Joyce Yang

This event occurred over 10 – 14 May 2024

Returning to Australia by popular demand, Joyce Yang is a Grammy-nominated pianist of extraordinary range, depth and charisma. She has been lauded by the Washington Post for her “poetic and sensitive pianism” and described by the New York Times as a “knockout.

From early and auspicious beginnings in her native Seoul, Joyce Yang’s superb musicianship, brilliance and sheer joy have endeared her to audiences and critics all over the world.

Among many international engagements, she has appeared with the New York Philharmonic, Chicago Symphony, Los Angeles Philharmonic, The Philadelphia Orchestra, San Francisco Symphony, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Hong Kong Philharmonic, BBC Philharmonic, and the Toronto, Vancouver, Sydney, Melbourne, and New Zealand Symphony orchestras.

Piano+ is delighted to present this phenomenal musician in a program of works by Tchaikovsky (selections from The Seasons, Op. 37a), Rachmaninoff (Three Preludes from Op. 32 and 23) and Stravinsky (The Firebird Suite), followed by Modest Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition. This suite, with its masterful emotional trajectory, is the perfect canvas for this extraordinary artist.

Joyce Yang is a breathtakingly spontaneous and virtuosic artist, grounded in a seemingly effortless technique that allows her, and her audience, to soar.

Don’t miss her recitals in Melbourne Recital Centre, the Queensland Symphony Orchestra Studio, Brisbane and Snow Concert Hall, Canberra*.

* Presented in partnership with Snow Concert Hall and their 2024 concert series.


Pyotr Tchaikovsky:
Selections from The Seasons Op.37a
No.1 January: By the Fireside
No.2 February: Carnival
No.4 April: Snowdrop
No.5 May: May Nights
No.6 June: Barcarolle
No.8 August: Harvest

Sergei Rachmaninoff:
from 13 Preludes Op.32
No.10 in B minor
No.12 in G# minor

from 10 Preludes Op.23
No.4 in D major

Igor Stravinsky/Guido Agosti:
Three movements from ‘The Firebird’
I. Infernal Dance
II. Lullaby
III. Finale

– Interval –

Modest Mussorgsky:
Pictures at an Exhibition
[Promenade I] Allegro giusto, nel modo russico; senza allegrezza, ma poco sostenuto
I. The Gnome
[Promenade II] Moderato commodo assai e con delicatezza.
II. The Old Castle
[Promenade III] Moderato non tanto, pesantemente
III. Tuileries
IV. Oxen [Promenade IV]
V. The Ballet of the Unhatched Chicks
VI. Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuyle
[Promenade V] Allegro giusto, nel modo russico; poco sostenuto
VII. The Market at Limoges (The Great News)
VIII. Catacombs – With the Dead in a Dead Language
IX. The Hut on Hens’ Legs
X. The Great Gate of Kiev