Kevin Chow 2021
Supported by Club 32 donor Richard Cobden


14 November 1996


First Prize (Piano) and Grand Finalist: The ABC Australian Young Performers Award (Sydney, Australia)
First Prize and The John Allison/Henderson Piano Scholarship: Sydney Eisteddfod (Sydney, Australia)
Winner: Melbourne Conservatorium of Music Concerto Competition (Melbourne, Australia)
Fourth Prize: Thailand International Piano Competition (Nakhon Pathom, Thailand)

Kevin Chow has a Bachelor of Music with Honours degree from the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music, having studied piano under Glenn Riddle. He is currently completing a Master of Music Degree on a full scholarship at Yale University, studying with Boris Slutsky after previous work under Boris Berman and the late Peter Serkin. He has collaborated in masterclasses with notable musicians Lang Lang, Paavali Jumppanen, Alessio Bax and Leslie Howard.


Kevin has performed extensively throughout Australia and given recitals in China, America, Thailand, Morocco, Greece, New Zealand and Indonesia. He has performed as a soloist with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Thailand Philharmonic Orchestra, Morocco Philharmonic Orchestra, and the City of Fremantle Symphony Orchestra. A keen chamber musician, he has worked with the New Haven New Music Initiative and will perform in the 2021 Australian Festival of Chamber Music.


Key highlights in Kevin’s career have included performing for HRH The Prince of Wales and The Duchess of Cornwall in Melbourne and having his performances broadcast on radio throughout Australia and New Zealand.


2021 Competition Performances

Preliminary Round Preliminary Round
Webcast: Online Concert
Wednesday 7 July 2021, 2.00pm

2021 Competition Repertoire

Preliminary Round

Johann Sebastian Bach: Toccata in C minor BWV 911

IV. Strauss. Der Rosenkavalier. Ramble on the Last Love Duet

I. Allegro agitato
II. Non allegro – Lento
III. L’istesso tempo – Allegro molto


VIII. Final. Prestissimo

Semi Final Round

Prelude and Fugue in E♭ minor BWV 853

III. Bénédiction de Dieu dans la solitude

Alexander Scriabin: Piano Sonata No.7 Op.64

I. Infernal Dance
II. Lullaby
III. Finale

Final Round

I. Allegro
II. Allegro di molto

Franz Schubert/Franz Liszt: Am Tage Aller Seelen - Litanei auf das Fest Aller Seelen D.343

I. Eintritt
II. Jäger auf der Lauer
III. Einsame Blumen
IV. Verrufene Stelle
V. Freundliche Landschaft
VI. Herberge
VII. Vogel als Prophet
VIII. Jagdlied
IX. Abschied

I. Allegro

II. Scherzo. Assai vivace

III. Adagio sostenuto

IV. Introduzione. Largo – Fuga: Allegro risoluto


No.1 Andantino con moto

VII. Intermezzo